Big Bash League 2018/2019 Betting and Odds Preview

Notice! Actual odds are subject to change and are correct as displayed only at the time of publishing: 11:54 AM 27.11.2018.

big bash leagueThe KFC Big Bash League is a popular and explosive Twenty20 cricket league in Australia organized by Australia Cricket since 2011. The league was built on the foundations of a previous tournament known as KFC Twenty20 Big Bash which featured six nation-wide teams. Unlike this tournament, the KFC Big Bash League features 8 city-based teams. Both leagues have been sponsored by popular fast-food restaurant KFC.

The KFC Big Bash League is an explosive cricket experience like no other. As the creators proudly explain on their website, it’s 3 hours of non-stop fun with music, fireworks and tons of entertainment and the perfect family night out. The league is played during Australia’s summer months in December and January.

The format of the league has remained unchanged since its conceptions. All the teams play against each other at least once during the regular season, with each team being assigned a “rival” who they play twice. The rivals for all the teams have been assigned a long time ago and generally don’t change. As there are multiple teams from the same city, the “rival” rule allows the BBL to have two city-wide derbies (Sydney and Melbourne).

The 8 teams competing in the KFC BBL are Adelaide Strikers, Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder, Perth Scorchers, Melbourne Stars, Melbourne Renegades, Hobart Hurricanes, and Brisbane Heat. Five of these eight teams have won the title at least once, with the Perth Scorchers being the most successful team (3 titles). The Sydney Thunder, Brisbane Heat, Sydney Sixers, and Adelaide Strikers have all won the title once.

Last year, the Adelaide Strikers won against the Hobbart Hurricanes in the final to win their first title. For the 2017/18 season, the format expanded to 40 regular season matches, with each team playing 10 matches before the semi-finals. The league ends with a knockout phase consisting of semi-finals and a final. The upcoming season has been further extended to 56 regular season matches and will surely offer unbridled fun for cricket fans.


fun88Owned by the respected gaming operator Welton Holdings Ltd., Fun88 was established in 2009 to widespread critical acclaim. Since then, the company has grown to one of the best bookies on the market after signing a sponsorship deal with Newcastle United. Fun88’s simplistic approach to betting and the variety of sports in its offer is why many punters prefer it to some pretty big online betting sites.

Cricket is featured among the numerous sports in Fun88’s offer, including the KFC Big Bash League. For the upcoming season, the Isle of Man bookie has the Perth Scorchers and Adelaide Strikers as odds-on favourites available at 4/1. The Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Stars are joint-favourites behind this duo with odds of 5/1. This means that all 4 teams have almost equal chances for the title, promising a lot of excitement heading into the season.

The Sydney pair of teams (Sixers and Thunder) stand on the last two spots on the favourites list with odds of 8/1 and 9/1 respectively. Since the odds for the two major favourites come at a solid 4/1, we wouldn’t look further. If the Strikers repeat last year’s success, you stand of earning 5 times your investment, which is more than a solid return.


letouLetou is one of the first Asian entertainment company to provide online gaming and has been in the business since 2004. The bookie has built quite a large community of fans around the UK and Europe with their great odds and an excellent selection of sports. Letou warmly accepts new players and works hard to provide new thrills for their most loyal customers by far.

Among the many sports in its offer, Letou also offers betting on selected cricket events including the KFC BBL. For the upcoming season, which will be the 9th edition of the league, Letou can’t separate the Strikers and Scorchers. Both have odds of 4/1, while the Heat and Stars look at them from beyond with odds of 5/1.

Next in line are the Renegades and Hurricanes with odds of 6/1 and 7/1 respectively, with the Sydney pair is welded to the bottom of the list available at 8/1 and 9/1. If you’re considering backing up the Strikers, you’ll win a nice sum in return for a reasonable bet. At 4/1, the defending champions have the biggest chances of repeating, but watch out for the Scorchers as well, who will no doubt be looking to scorch the opposition.


pwrPWR.Bet is a fresh new bookie, arriving on the scene in 2018. Instead of relying on bonuses and promotions, PWR.Bet has decided to take the long road and appeal to sports fans with a deep selection of sports and markets and competitive odds. The fresh new bookie is already attracting quite the attention and will undoubtedly make great strides in the near future.

Cricket is included in PWR.Bet’s offer, with markets that would probably put even bigger bookies to shame. Besides round match betting, PWR.Bet offers betting in the Outright Winner market for the upcoming KFC BBL season. Unlike at other bookies, the Strikers and Scorchers aren’t joint-favourites for the trophy. The Adelaide Strikers are still in the lead, though, with odds of 15/4. The Scorchers are lagging a bit behind with odds of 4/1, while the pair of Melbourne teams, the Stars and Renegades, come next on the list at 11/2.

The Thunder and Sixers are once again at the back end of the list with odds of 8/1 and 9/1 respectively. Backing up the Strikers at PWR.Bet makes perfect sense considering the odds. You’ll get 15 pounds for every 4 you invest, which is a more than a solid return that could fill your pockets if the defending champion lifts the trophy again.


tonybetLaunched in 2009 by world-famous poker player Tony G. (Antanas Guoga), TonyBet quickly established itself as a serious bookie bent on delivering the best possible experience for punters. TonyBet has a load of sports in its offer with a section devoted to cricket. Unlike most bookies, however, TonyBet doesn’t offer odds for the outright winner. Instead, the bookie is focused on round-per-round match betting, already providing odds for the KFC BBL Round 1 which is scheduled for December 19, 2018.

The first round will feature some pretty interesting battles like the opening match between defending champion Adelaide Strikers and Brisbane Heat. The Heat is a surprising favourite for the match, with odds of 4/5 against the Strikers’ even odds.
The second major favourite by the title according to experts, the Perth Scorchers, visit the Melbourne Renegades on the first matchday. TonyBet can’t separate the teams, giving both outfits odds of 9/10.

Even though it’s unfortunate that TonyBet doesn’t offer outright winner’s odds for the upcoming season of the KFC BBL, the odds for these matches are not bad at all. Put them on an accumulator, and you might be lucky enough to win a nice prize.